Please be simple

My friend: “My sister is intransigent”

Me:  blink blink…sorry…

My friend: “my sister is intransigent”…

Me: okkkkaayyy…blink blink…errrr!!! could u spell that for me…

My friend: I N T R A N S I G E N T ( with a sigh !!! must be thinking “hahaha…he has never heard that word before i bet…yesssss mission accomplished”)

Me: can u hold on a moment !!! http://www.dictionary.com…I N T R A N S I G E N T. phew…allright…why do u call your sister STUBBORN??? grrrrrrr……

half way through the conversation I just could not resist asking…”hey did u prepare for GRE by any chance???” and there it was…the truth…and then I could not stop that smirk.

Listen up people!!! my english vocabulary is strictly limited. So…if you use complex-unheard-unused words when talking to me…and if I smile…be warned as to what’s going on in my mind…could be one or all of the following…

1) “definitely GRE”

2) “gimme a break…or gimme a dictionary”

3) “hey you!!! do you speak english?”

4) “wwwooo…must be from the land of thames”

5) “wanna show off !!! eh !!! ”

and hey…that’s not all…I am gonna return you the favour next time around…with something like “your sister is pulchritudinous” and rest assured…I am not gonna spell it for you

~ by arun bharadwaj on October 11, 2008.

4 Responses to “Please be simple”

  1. First of all, welcome to blogosphere. I know you are already four posts old, but still I don’t want to miss this chance of sounding like a veteran blogger. 😉

    Now about this post. Well, exactly my thought…

    And to think that there are words for which, even definitions are not enough to explain the meaning… like…

    synecdoche (noun):
    a figure of speech by which a part is put for the whole or whole for a part or general for the special or vice versa.

    🙂

    You almost feel like suing for malfeasance!!!

  2. Ha ha ha… Ultimate! I must tell you, tumne meri muh ki baath cheen li!! Very well put. I find it ludicrous too.;) It unveiled the wild farcical exuberance of a clown in me. 😛 😛 ha ha haha…

  3. Hey thanks you two…
    Avik…I read through that definition quite a few times…and I swear I have not been able to figure out what it actually meant…and infact I am least interested 😉

    Nive…I did not bother to look for the meaning of those colourful words…but I get the gist of what you said…and that works fine for me 🙂

  4. ha ha ha ha.. this is one of the most simple and most interesting blog of ur’s…. really i had fun reading it… towering…;).. i couldn’t find more simple word than this… sad i never on earth prepared for english dictation test in class 4th, forget GRE….. 😀

Leave a comment